Aroostook County, Maine townships, cities and villages in the 1840 US Census: what they're called today

This is a list of the townships listed in the 1840 US Census of Aroostook County, with the current names of those townships. If you can help me out with information on the current names of any of the other places, or if you have any more specific information or corrections, please Thanks.

Please note that there is not an exact correspondence between the borders of the townships and the areas that the census taker canvassed under the heading of a specific township. Some people who lived in one township show up in another, neighboring one in the census. In addition, some communities that are not currently within the borders of Aroostook County are included, in particular in Madawaska North of the St.John river (now mostly in New Brunswick), and Township 3, Ranges 6 and 7, which is in Penobscot County.

For a list of current townships with the 1840 names, click here

Amity: Amity

Belfast Academy Grant: Ludlow

Benedicta, or No. 2, 5th Range: Benedicta

Bridgewater Academy Grant: Part of Bridgewater

Fort Fairfield or Letter D: Southern part of Fort Fairfield

Framingham Academy Grant: Part of Littleton

Hodgdon: Hodgdon

Houlton: part of Houlton

Letter A, 1st Range: Cary Plantation

Letter A, 2nd Range: Letter A, Range 2

Letter A, 5th Range: Molunkus

Letter G: Part of Presque Isle (?)

Letter G, 2nd Range: Part of Presque Isle

Letters H & I, 1st and 2nd Ranges: Parts of Caribou

Letter H, 2nd Range: (seems to be part of Letter H, 2nd Range), Caribou


Madawaska North of the St.John River: Communities along the northern bank of the St.John River upriver from Grand Falls in Madawaska County, New Brunswick, including Edmundston, St.Basile, St. Hilaire, plus communities from Fort Kent westward along the St.John, and along the Fish River in Aroostook County

Madawaska South of the St.John River: Communities from Van Buren to about Fort Kent, including Madawaska and Frenchville

New Limerick: New Limerick

Orient Gore: Orient

Plymouth Grant: Part of Fort Fairfield

Plymouth & Eaton Grants, 1st Range: Part of Fort Fairfield and Caribou

Smyrna: Smyrna

Township Number 1, 2nd Range: Bancroft

Township Number 1, 3rd Range: Reed Plantation

Township Number 1, 4th Range: Upper Molunkus and North Yarmouth Academy Grant

Township Number 1, 5th Range: Township No.1, Range 5

Township Number 2, 2nd Range: Haynesville

Township Number 2, 3rd Range: Glenwood Plantation

Township Number 2, 5nd Range or Irish Township: Probably Silver Ridge Township

Township Number 3, 2nd Range: Forkstown

Township Number 3, 5th Range: Sherman

Township Number 3, 6th & 7th Ranges: Stacyville, Sherman Station, and Township 3, Range 7, Penobscot County

Township Number 4, 5th Range, or Fish's Township: Crystal

Township Number 5, 3rd Range: Oakfield

Township Number 6, 5th Range: Moro Plantation

Townships Number 7 & 9, 5th Range: Township 7, Range 5, Township 9, Range 5 (along Route 11 toward Masardis)

Township Number 9: part of Orient, part of Haynesville

Township Number 10, 5th Range or Masardis: Masardis Township

Township Number 11, 1st Range: Cary Plantation

Township Number 11, 5th Range: Ashland

Township Number 13, 3rd Range: Washburn

Westfield Academy Grant: Westfield

Weston: Weston

Williams College Grant: part of Houlton

Return to the 1840 US Census of Aroostook County page
Return to Upper St.John Valley Communities Page

Last revised 23 Feb 2002
©2002 C. Gagnon